Elizabeth Warren Lands 24 New Iowa Endorsements After Debate

Elizabeth Warren will return to Iowa later this weekend to a new raft of prominent endorsers, including former Lt. Governor Sally Pederson.

Twenty-four leaders from across Iowa announced their support for Warren today, adding to her growing list of endorsements in the lead-off caucus state where she now narrowly leads in the polls.

It’s a good mix of longtime leaders whose names are well-known and younger activists who can pound the pavement for their candidate. Among the most recognizable names are Pederson, former Iowa Secretary of State Elaine Baxter, and Iowa state Rep. Mary Wolfe, of Clinton.

Wolfe’s addition appears to give Warren the largest number of state legislators — seven — backing her candidacy of any Democratic candidate. Cory Booker has six, Joe Biden has four, Amy Klobuchar has three, Kamala Harris and Beto O’Rourke both have two, and Bernie Sanders and Steve Bullock have one apiece, according to our Starting Line endorsement tracker.

Advertise on Iowa Starting Line

“Elizabeth is the candidate for change. She understands that to rescue our democracy and our economy we must end the corruption that enriches the few while leaving everyone else behind,” Sally Pederson wrote in an op-ed. “She’s also the candidate for results. Elizabeth has the experience, philosophy, temperament and track record to actually make that change happen.”

Iowa State Treasurer Mike Fitzgerald, along with state senators Joe Bolkcom and Eric Giddens, have already endorsed Warren. State representatives Liz Bennett, Lindsay James, Mary Mascher and Tracy Ehlert have as well.

Among Warren’s new supporters are a trio of city councilmembers, including Elijah Stines of Boone, Mike O’Loughlin of Independence and Michael Ryan of Tiffin.

And she brought on several influential local leaders, like Carroll County Democrats Chair Peter Leo, who, after running unsuccessfully for the Legislature, has turned his county party into a Western Iowa powerhouse. That should help her significantly in a key rural county west of I-35. Like Bernie Sanders before her in 2016, Warren could rack up a lot of delegates in more conservative rural areas where the core Democratic activists are interestingly more left-leaning than other places.

Warren also has some good new supporters in urban centers, like Andy Roberts of the powerful Plumbers and Steamfitters 33 in Des Moines, and hard-working activists like Zeb Beilke-McCallum in Urbandale.

Finally, she also has three new agricultural activists in Ron Rosmann, an organic farmer in Harlan; Sarah Carlson, a farm policy expert in Pleasant Hill; and Kamyar Enshayan, a farm policy leader in Cedar Falls.

Warren’s full list of new endorsers are:

Sally Pederson, former Iowa lieutenant governor, Des Moines
Elaine Baxter, former Iowa secretary of state, Burlington
Mary Wolfe, Iowa State Representative, Clinton
Elijah Stines, city councilman, Boone
Mike O’Loughlin, city councilman, Independence
Michael Ryan, city councilman, Tiffin
Peter Leo, Carroll County Democratic Party chairman, Manning
Adam Kerkvliet, Lyon County Democratic Party chairman, Larchwood

Mike Kern, Southeast Dallas County Democrats chairman, Waukee
Phyllis Weeks, former Marion County Democratic Party chairwoman, Knoxville
Gini and Jim Jordan, former Cass County Democratic Party chairs, Atlantic
Mike Tramontina, former deputy state treasurer, Des Moines
Andy Roberts, labor leader, Des Moines
Zeb Beilke-McCallum, community activist, Urbandale
Amy Johnson, community activist, North Liberty
Sharon McDonald, community activist, Iowa City
Mei-Ling Shaw, community activist, Iowa City
Amanda Rex-Johnson, community activist, Des Moines
Mary and Arvid Oliver, community activist, Ankeny
Ron Rosmann, organic farmer, Harlan
Sarah Carlson, farm policy leader, Pleasant Hill
Kamyar Enshayan, farm policy leader, Cedar Falls

by Pat Rynard
Posted 10/16/19

7 Comments on "Elizabeth Warren Lands 24 New Iowa Endorsements After Debate"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *