Iowa Democratic Party Releases List Of 2016 Honorees

The Iowa Democratic Party’s annual Hall of Fame Dinner is coming up next month, scheduled for June 17 at the Iowa Events Center in Des Moines. This year North Dakota Senator Heidi Heitkamp will give the keynote speech.

The IDP also released today its list of honorees for the event that thanks the party’s outstanding activists and elected officials. Among them this year are Mike Gronstal, who keeps Republicans from having complete reign over Iowa, Jean Pardee, who was on the state’s central committee for decades, and Laura Hubka, a great county chair in a key rural county that’s part of the Tri-County Democrats.

Here’s the full list:

  • Outstanding Elected Official Award: Senator Mike Gronstal

  • Outstanding Supporter Award: Ken Sagar, Iowa Federation of Labor President

  • Outstanding Leadership Award: Rep. Sharon Steckman

  • Jim Lodwick Award for Outstanding State Central Committee Member: Jean Pardee, longest serving SCC member

  • Bob Creech Award for Outstanding Democratic Party Chair: Laura Hubka, Howard County Chair

  • Dixon Terry Award for Outstanding Democratic Party Activist: Randy Black, Chair of the Iowa Democratic Wing Ding Committee

  • Edward Campbell Rising Star Award: Blake Hanson


by Pat Rynard
Posted 5/18/16

1 Comment on "Iowa Democratic Party Releases List Of 2016 Honorees"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *