Iowa City West Student Recognized as Journalist of the Year

Courtesy of the Iowa High School Press Association

Krisha Kapoor, a senior at Iowa City West High, was named Iowa Journalist of the Year.

The Iowa High School Press Association and the Iowa Newspaper Foundation chose Kapoor, who is now eligible for the National Journalist of the Year award, which is judged by the Journalism Education Association and will be announced at the national journalism convention later this week, April 20-22.

In addition to the honor, Kapoor will receive $500, and could get another scholarship if selected as the National Journalist of the Year.

Advertise on Iowa Starting Line

As the co-editor-in-chief for the school’s news magazine, “West Side Story,” Kapoor was commended for her reporting, writing, photography, videography, and design skills. The judging committee also noted her knowledge of student press rights and responsibilities.

“Krisha demonstrates a firm grasp of what it takes to engage diverse audiences in modern-day journalism by knowing what a news story is and how to lead a newsroom staff to tell that story,” the committee wrote.

Payton Strobel of Waukee Northwest received runner-up honors and $300. The committee praised her work helping to establish the school’s journalism program and that she recognized the need to include diverse voices.

Third place went to Shobini Iyer of Pleasant Valley, who received $200. Her role as a leader at her school’s student newspaper was commended.


Nikoel Hytrek

If you enjoy stories like these, make sure to sign up for Iowa Starting Line’s main newsletter and/or our working class-focused Worker’s Almanac newsletter.

Have a story idea or something I should know? Email me at You can also DM me on Twitter at @n_hytrek

​​Iowa Starting Line is part of an independent news network and focuses on how state and national decisions impact Iowans’ daily lives. We rely on your financial support to keep our stories free for all to read. You can contribute to us hereFind ISL on TikTokInstagramFacebook and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *