Starting Line will be tracking the Iowa staff of every 2020 Democratic presidential candidate. We’ll include candidates’ national staff only if they have a very specific Iowa connection or background. Part of each person’s past campaign experience will be listed under their name (I’m still filling in some of this – it’s taking a while).

We will have to make a cut-off at some point when it comes to who all we list. We won’t keep track of every field organizer on here, but will try to give a sense of how large each candidate’s field team is.

*Last updated 3/12/19


Cory Booker

Mike Frosolone, Iowa State Director
Iowa House Democrats director

Joe O’Hern, Iowa Senior Advisor
Dave Loebsack campaign manager, Martin O’Malley caucus director

Haley Hager, Iowa Director Of Operations
Next Gen Iowa state director, Wendy Davis campaign

Sarah Sterner, Iowa Organizing Director
Ohio organizing director, Clinton 2016 caucus campaign

Zach Bernstein, Deputy Iowa Organizing Director

Matthew Lee, Iowa Data Director
Next Gen Iowa

Tom Pietrykoski, Iowa Communications Director
Booker press secretary, Rep. Bill Pascrell, Jr. communications director

Tess Seger, Iowa Deputy Communications Director/Press Secretary
IDP communications director

Rishi Bharwani, Iowa Political Director – East
Campaign manager for Amber Gustafson, Everytown for Gun Safety analyst, Booker 2013 campaign organizer

Francesca Lucia Iowa Political Director – West
Deputy campaign manager for Cindy Axne

Caroline Closson, Regional Organizing Director
Iowa House Democrats deputy director
Jacob Hamblin, Regional Organizing Director
Ohio Coordinated Campaign RFD
Adam Henderson, Regional Organizing Director
Iowa House Democrats campaign manager


Steve Bullock

Megan Simpson, Big Sky Values PAC Organizing Director
Montana coordinated campaign director


Julian Castro

Cynthia Sebian-Lander, Iowa State Director
Deidre DeJear campaign manager

Marika Bresler, Iowa Organizing Director
Next Gen Iowa field director, Jason Kander organizing director

Derek Eadon, Deputy National Campaign Manager
IDP chair, Barack Obama 2008 and 2012 campaign, Bluprint Strategies consulting firm owner


John Delaney

Monica Biddix, Iowa State Director
Andy McGuire campaign manager, IDP communications director

Mark Galinsky, Deputy State Director
Field Representative – Office of Congressman John Delaney

Josh Skipworth, Iowa Field Director
Obama Field Organizer, LCV Regional Field Director, HSUS State Director, Carpenters Union Deputy Political Director

Marcia Rogers, Political Director
Partner, North Shore, LLC

Rachel Potucek, Communications Director
Democratic Party of Orange County Communications Director, former aide to Rep. Linda Sánchez

Greg Hauenstein, Digital Director
Lead Developer – GPS Impact, Digital Director – Iowa Democratic Party, Digital Producer – Obama for America

Ben Cobley, Digital and Communications specialist
GPSImpact, Press Team – Hillary for America, Dep. Campaign Manager – Hogg for Senate

John Davis, national campaign manager
Longtime Iowa political consultant

*Delaney has 25 staff in all, most on the field side.


Kirsten Gillibrand

Lara Henderson, Iowa State Director
Fred Hubbell finance director, Brad Anderson campaign manager

Rachel Irwin, Communications Director
DCCC Midwest press secretary

Casey Clemmons, Iowa Caucus Director
IDP GOTV director, Clinton caucus organizer

Haley Barbour, political director
Fred Hubbell deputy finance director


Kamala Harris

Will Dubbs, Iowa State Director
Pennsylvania coordinated campaign director, Clinton 2016 caucus Sioux City regional director

Deidre DeJear, Iowa Campaign Chair
2018 Iowa Secretary of State candidate

Zack Davis, Iowa Senior Advisor
Barack Obama campaign, Next Gen state director, Let America Vote state director

Nora Walsh-DeVries, Political Director
John Norris campaign manager, Need To Vote outreach director, Hillary Clinton 2016 campaign

Miryam Lipper, Communications Director
Tim Kaine press office

Erin Phillips, Field Director


John Hickenlooper

Sam Roecker, Iowa Advisor
Patty Judge campaign manager, Iowa campaign consultant

Ferguson Yacyshyn, Iowa Caucus Director
IDP field director


Amy Klobuchar

Lauren Dillon, Iowa State Director

Andrew Nelson, State Organizing Director

Courtney Rice, Press Secretary


Beto O’Rourke (no official campaign yet – this is expected staff)

Norm Sterzenbach
Former IDP executive director, Iowa political consultant

Margaret Jarosz
D’Alessandro for Congress campaign manager, Hubbell deputy campaign manager, Sanders 2016 campaign 


Bernie Sanders

Misty Rebik, Iowa State Director
Cathy Glasson campaign manager, One Iowa, Planned Parenthood

Evan Burger, State Caucus Director
CCI Senior Organizer, Sanders 2016 campaign

Tony Anthony, Deputy Caucus Director
Sanders 2016 deputy caucus director, DC Attorney General Karl Racine campaign

Jess Mazour, Political Director
CCI lead organizer on Farm & Environment

Michael Fasullo, Field Director
Cathy Glasson campaign, ran Chicago city council race, Pennsylvania state legislative campaign

Pete D’Alessandro, Senior Advisor
Congressional candidate, Sanders 2016 state campaign coordinator, Vilsack and Culver administrations


Eric Swalwell

Eddie Alvarez, likely Iowa State Director

*Swalwell has at least six Iowa staff in place so far


Elizabeth Warren

Janice Rottenberg, Iowa State Director
Iowa coordinated campaign director, Hillary Clinton caucus campaign

Emily Parcell, Iowa/National advisor
Barack Obama campaign, Iowa political consulting

Brendan Summers, National advisor
Barack Obama campaign, IDP caucus director

Kane Miller, national advisor
Abby Finkenauer campaign manager, Hillary Clinton caucus campaign

Daniel Wasta, Political Director
State Treasurer’s office, state senate campaigns manager

Jason Noble, Communications Director
Des Moines Register chief politics reporter, Let America Vote communication director

Juliana Amin, Iowa Organizing Director

Rachel Cowell, Iowa Deputy Organizing Director
IDP RFD, Clinton caucus campaign

Chelsea Carrier, Iowa Deputy Organizing Director
Fred Hubbell Deputy Field Director, IDP RFD, Clinton caucus campaign

Emma Welsh-Huggins, Digital Director

Alex Barbieri, Data Director


Marianne Williamson

Brent Roske, Iowa State Director
Film director, former congressional candidate


Andrew Yang

Jonathan Herzog, Iowa State Director