Desmund Adams Gets List Of Endorsements For Christmas

December 24th, 2015
Desmund Adams Gets List Of Endorsements For Christmas

3rd District Congressional candidate Desmund Adams gathered friends, family and local activists at a Des Moines hotel on the morning of Christmas Eve to announce a long list of new endorsements for his campaign. Former Lt. Governor Jo Ann Zimmerman came on board as his campaign chair, along with a number of prominent central Iowans as co-chairs to provide advice and assistance.

“I found [Adams] was a candidate who knew how to work very, very hard,” said Zimmerman in her introduction of Adams. “Solid family, good background for running. This 3rd Congressional District is a purple district. It will take someone who knows how to run, run hard, meet people and serve well. And Desmund can do that.”

Adams stressed that he’s put together a broad and diverse coalition to win the Democratic primary, with people from both rural and urban areas from many demographic backgrounds.

“In 2008 there was a little-known Senator that had the good fortune to change the political landscape in this country forever,” Adams said. “And the way that was achieved was to bring a broad coalition of supporters together from all sides to bridge divisions to move us forward … We can beat David Young, but it’s going to take every single person in this room and beyond to achieve that.”

Adams noted that he’d soon roll out a “People’s First Agenda” in 2016 to detail his various policy positions that would benefit the 3rd District.

Here is the list of endorsements the Adams campaign announced today:

Campaign Chair

  • Jo Ann Zimmerman – Fmr. Lieutent Governor

Campaign Co-Chairs

  • Louis Lavorato – Fmr. Chief Justice, Iowa Supreme Court
  • Fred Buie – Fmr. Chair, Iowa Association Business & Industry
  • Andrea Rivera – Retired, International Representative for United Auto Workers (UAW)
  • Joe Henry – President, League of United Latin American (LULAC)

Key Campaign Endorsers

  • Mary Campos – Co Founder Brown & Black Forum
  • Mark Cooper – Union Leader
  • Rep. Ako Abdul Samad – Iowa House Assistant Minority Leader/Chair IDP Black Caucus
  • Max Knauer – Community Activist
  • Wayne Ford – Fmr. IA State Representative/Co Founder Brown & Black Forum
  • Art Behn – Chair, Dallas County Democrats
  • Sherry Toelle – Chair, Cass County Democrats
  • Jack Hatch, Fmr. Democratic Gubernatorial Nominee/Fmr. Iowa State Senator
  • Ed Fallon – Fmr. State Representative
  • Heather Ryan – Chair, East Side Democrats
  • Mitch Henry – Community Activist
  • Julie Stewart – President, Senate 10 Democrats/ State Central Committee Member
  • Joyce Schulte – Fmr. U.S. Congressional Candidate – District 4
  • Michael Libbie – Business Leader
  • Pastor Bobby Young – Fmr. President, Ministerial Alliance
  • Pastor Billy Young – President, Ministerial Alliance
  • Linda Carter Lewis – Fmr. President, NAACP
  • Beau Fodor – LGBT Community Activist
  • Josh Hughes – I-35 School Board Member
  • Felix Gallagher – Business Leader
  • Mary Chapman
  • Marvin Dejear
  • Betty Andrews – President, Betty Andrews Media
  • Mary Madison
  • Rep. Ruth Ann Gaines – Iowa State Representative
  • Skip Moore – Des Moines City Council
  • Pastor R.L. Daye
  • Arnold Woods – Community Leader


by Pat Rynard
Posted 12/24/15

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *